Pascal studied classical percussion, jazz vibraphone and musicology at music conservatories in Luxembourg, Strasbourg, Brussels and The Hague. He holds a Master’s Degree in musicology from the Marc Bloch University in Strasbourg, and another in music with a focus on jazz vibraphone from the Koninklijk Conservatorium in The Hague. He has won many awards, including the Belgian Django d’Or (2005), Music:LX (2012), ECHO Jazz (2012), JTI Trier Jazz (2014), was selected for the Rising Stars program organized by the European Concert Hall Organization (2009 / 10) and appeared as soloist in ECHO Klassik 2017 awarded project "Überbach".

When he‘s not making music, Pascal likes listening to Charles Mingus, Nico Muhly, Brian Eno and J.S. Bach. He is passionate about cycling and running, and is also a big fan of ramen, the popular Japanese noodle soup.

Pascal is a Yamaha Artist and a Professor for Jazz and Classical Percussion at the Conservatoire de Musique de Luxembourg. - He is the Artistic Director of the innovative 'Reset' Music Festival at Abbaye Neimenster and an Ambassador for SOS Children's Villages International - Luxembourg.

Selected Works

Pascal Schumacher:
Drops & Points Reworks, Modulating Music (2018)
Drops & Points, Modulating Music (2017)
Left Tokyo Right, Laborie Jazz (2015)

Afrodiziak, MPS Records – Edel (2015)

Pascal Schumacher / WDR Rundfunkorchester
Marlene - The Woman One Longs For / orchestral music for silent movie, Friedrich-Wilhelm-Murnau-Stiftung / Transit Film (1929 / 2012, DVD)

Pascal Schumacher Quartet:
Bang My Can, Enja Records (2011)
Here We Gong, Enja Records (2009)
Silbergrau, Igloo Records (2007)
Personal Legend, Igloo Records (2006)
Change of the Moon, Igloo Records (2004)

Pascal Schumacher / Jef Neve Duo:
Face to Face, Enja Records (2010)

Commissioned Compositions:
Windfall Concerto for Vibraphone and Orchestra (2015) / with Orchestre Philharmonique du Luxembourg (2015)

In Phase with J.S. Bach / chamber music for Jazz soloists und 9 strings (2010/11)

CTRL Variations, chamber music multimedia production / with United Instruments of Lucilin, Mich Welfringer & Ian Monk (2008)

LUXTIME, Jacques Tati revisited /with Laura Schroeder - theatre music production (2007)