The prolific composer and vibraphonist Pascal Schumacher, whose influences are eclectic and far reaching (from Johann Sebastian Bach to Arvo Pärt and American minimalism) has composed a suite for vibraphone and amplified chamber orchestra. The commission, entitled Rosace.8 has been premiered by Pascal Schumacher on the 30th January 2019 at the Philharmonic Hall of Luxembourg where he was accompanied by the Orchestre Philharmonique du Luxembourg.

Schumacher has been affected by a whole generation of musicians such as Max Richter, Ryuichi Sakamoto, Jóhann Jóhannson or Jonny Greenwood, who have all dared to play mixologist with musical genres. According to Schumacher, these artists have breathed new life into classical music by way of subtle association with more modern styles.

Following the euphoric ‘Windfall Concerto’ for vibraphone and orchestra premiered in 2015, this new opus consists of ten movements, again distancing itself from the standard classical concerto in three movements that features a Supersoloist. Pascal Schumacher is aiming for a more organic and resolutely contemporary configuration in Rosace.8 where the vibraphonist is band-leading the orchestra.

ROSACE.8 - Suite in 10 movements for vibraphone and amplified chamber orchestra

Rosace.8.0 - Prologue
Rosace.8.1 - Mobile Nobile
Rosace.8.2 - Mirage
Rosace.8.3 - Catch The Illusion
Rosace.8.4 - Influx
Rosace.8.5 - Exhale
Rosace.8.6 - Molodost
Rosace.8.7 - Interregnum
Rosace.8.7b - Outflux
Rosace.8.8 - Evidence

Booking Agents

fast forward classical
Justus Wille
Phone: ‭+49 157 73735885‬

Upcoming Concerts

Sorry, there aren't any upcoming shows right now.

Featured Video(s)


The world premiere of Pascal Schumacher's Rosace.8, a cinematic symphony in ten movements, impressed deep passionate melancholia and an assertion of the vitalitly and versatility of the vibraphone. The Luxembourg composer and vibraphonist's 75-minute suite is a perfect realization of style, with generous pacing, wistful moments and stormy vigour, obeying visible and invisible symmetries. (AJ Dehany)